Archive for November 28th, 2008

When Phones Were Immobile and Lived in Red Boxes

November 28, 2008

 

A rare collectable?

A rare collectable?

It is very gratifying to still receive an order from Gardners this morning for my little book of childhood memories 1939-53 “When Phones Were Immobile and Lived in Red boxes”. It was published over four years ago and once I got down to a few copies out of the 750 run I stopped trying to sell them as I was hoping that ‘something would turn up’ that might get a major publisher interested. This would be truly wonderful as any money made on that book has been promised to Save the Children Fund. (Well over £1,000 has been donated already). Now down to two spare copies, I decided to see if any second hand ones might be available. Looking on Amazon I find two Americans are selling that book – one for £145 and the other £143. Has my little book become “rare” and collectable?

Visit Magpies Nest Publishing for details of that book and my others (two in pen names)