Waterstone’s

I am now set up to supply Waterstone’s via the wholesaler Gardners Books, and am free to write to their stores to see if they would like to stock my titles. A store directory has been sent to me.

My first reaction?

Good!

My second reaction?

Phew! More work!

The truth is, I am weary of the whole business. All I want to do is write, not market books. But without a publisher for printed versions, I have no choice but to go it alone.

I can only hope that e-book versions will sell.

But how to package books to give them ‘reader appeal’? I seem to have made a bad job of that so far. Yes, I have good reviews and those who read my books thoroughly enjoy them (no doubt about that), but competition is fierce and attracting new readers difficult. The Richard and Judy book list (and others with publicity clout) that takes a huge chunk of the market makes it hard for the rest to survive.

But then came this lovely reader review by Andrew O’Hara (Powell’s books Awakening Love reader review) to cheer me up :

“Few are able to write romantic fiction with the skill, ardor and sensitivity of Gladys Hobson. Gladys lays out her characters in such vivid color and her plots with such perfect timing that one can’t help but be swept up and carried along in her delightful tales. This is the third book I have read by this author, and she never disappoints.”

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Waterstone’s”

  1. Payton L. Inkletter Says:

    Andrew O’Hara’s review of your Awakening Love is high validation. I’d be chuffed to have a review like that for any book I wrote. Worth its weight in gold.

  2. Gladys Hobson Says:

    Indeed. And so is Andy O’Hara — a blessing to many people.

Leave a Reply

