Praise Is Uplifting

 

New growth on old tree!

New growth on old tree!

We, that is my husband and I -(joined at the hip), were walking into town the other day, when a neighbour stopped his car to speak to us. he wanted to tell us what a lovely job we were making of our front garden.

 

Perhaps I should say here that the garden at the front of our house is rather larger than average and has a border going across the front and curving round to the far side of the house (small cul-de-sac) where there is a raised side garden. An ancient beech overhangs the road and other trees and shrubs go all the way round. 

About three years ago we had a 90ft tree taken down leaving a huge stump about 8ft high. This is now covered with two beautiful varieties of ivy, winter jasmine, a clematis, and my pride and joy — a rambling-climbing, sweet-scented rose capping and leaping over and upwards in a most spectacular manner. This year we trimmed back a misshapen yew (Now growing quite splendidly) removed a huge wild rhododendron and planted 11 camellia shrubs, plus rhododendrons, buddlia, California lilac, hydrangias, and edged that area with pansies and other small plants. The rest of the border is well established and requires little work to keep it tidy.

I see it a bit untidy at present but can imagine that next year the plants will have filled out and in a few years we will have to do a bit of pruning out. So I was highly delighted that our neighbours appreciate what we have done. (Others have said things as they pass by). It has been hard work. Arthritis can be painful but gardening keeps us active. Some people enjoy flashy jewellery. My plants are my jewels and I never grow tired of looking at them and, yes, talking to them! Especially my roses.

It is lovely to share things of beauty. Okay, so we have weeds back and front but they all blend together in a haphazard harmony. As for the praise, it is uplifting and, in my opinion, we should do more of it. Whether it is in appreciation of a job well done, or simply in admiration of beauty or virtue.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Praise Is Uplifting”

  1. Payton L. Inkletter Says:

    ‘My plants are my jewels’: now there’s some classic Gladys H.! Inspiring, humbling, and uplifting (apparent contradiction intended).

    You have been storing your treasures in heaven Gladys, and you’ll leave your jewels behind for others to enjoy when the time comes. And they’ll’ve been well polished by your nurturing conversations with them. I’d like to be a plant in the Hobson’s garden, perhaps a Madake bamboo clump (it tolerates cold well, even growing in Canada), and now and then you could take a piece of me and turn it into a shakuhachi flute.

    I can hear the tunes now, from the garden:

    Koalaburra sits in the old gum tree, counting all the monkeys he can see. laugh koalaburra, laugh koalaburra that’s not a monkey, that’s me!; and

    ‘Watch me koala bears feed. They’re a dangerous breed, mate, So watch me koala bears feed. All together now! Tie me kangaroo down, sport, Tie me kangaroo down…’

  2. Gladys Hobson Says:

    Interesting what people do to gardens they take over. We once owned a house with a garden about 100 yards long, very narrow at the house end but doubling in size half the way down. My hubby dug the wide area, levelled and seeded it into a lawn with a flower border. (The top end was already grass) It was a VERY dry summer. Every night, after getting home from work, we carried many buckets of water down to get the grass to grow. (No hose pipe. Not sure if we would have been allowed to use one anyway) Finally we had a pleasant lawn. Later we moved on. The new people dug up the grass and planted vegetables.
    Will the next house owner root up our many shrubs and trees and grow bamboo? Who knows, maybe with climate change, koalas will be watering visitors to the house!

Leave a Reply

