New Growth From Old

New life linking to the past where a new life began


Rambling Rose linking love and life — the past into the present


We may be living some distance from where we were born but we have managed to achieve a living link to my husband’s birth town in our very own garden here in Cumbria.
We visited the village where my husband was born (10 pounds plus!) over eighty years ago and I saw the cottage where he arrived in the world. It has a view of the river below. The garden is below lane level and not only were vegetables grown there but pigs were kept too. Hubby says he had his photo taken on the back of one. The river supplied water for running the local mills.
Just along the lane hubby’s uncle lived. But the houses were knocked down years ago. I noticed the wall had been filled in where gates had once been. About the place where the uncle had lived a pink rambling rose grew over the wall. I took a cutting. From the piece I managed to grow several plants. Now a couple of years later they are doing very nicely in our South Cumbria home.
I planted one of the roses under a tree hoping it would grow upwards into the branches. It has. I look at it and think about how it links us to my hubby’s birthplace. So too those cuttings I planted by a trellis.
Little pink lanterns of joy! New growth from old. Life moves onward but always we are rooted in our past.

Visit Writing For Joy
Diary of an English Lady
My author-book blog
Magpies Nest Publishing.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

