Blooming Lovely!

I don’t normally put posts on this blog about the garden and photos of the blooms as they come out each season, but the truth is, I am presently unable to get my thoughts together creatively. At present the Silver Birch trees are shimmering in a stiff breeze but later they will be drenched with rain. So too the rest of the garden. We needed this rain as the ground, largely solid with roots, was getting truly dried out. A few days of showers and blooms fill the garden like jewels in a pirate’s treasure chest. For indeed, my plants are my jewels. I have never bought or desired gold and precious stones. I look out at the garden, or walk outside, and I am drenched in the beauty that meets my eyes. Jewels may sparkle but so do raindrops on leaves and petals. My jewels have scent and touch to delight the senses. Their colours gladden the eye. The trees whisper in the breeze and wave a welcome. None of these, my jewels, have to be locked away. They make a home for nesting birds and provide nectar for busy bees. A garden is a welcoming place to lift a weary heart and gives cheer to all who enter. Birds come to feed and provide for their young. Their singing is music to the ear, their presence a never ending joy. A garden whispers peace in a chaotic world

Tree stump covered in clematis - a few weeks and it will be covered in roses!

The frog stands guard!

Brightening the path

Brightening the shadows


Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Blooming Lovely!”

  1. geoffnelder Says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Watch out, Gladys, I’m sneaking round with a wheelbarrow!

  2. Gladys Hobson Says:

    You are welcome to cuttings. We have a spare oak tree. And also a beech if you fancy planting a tree for a garden swing! (Might have to wait a few years!) Are you planning pushing the barrow with your bike? We’ll be ready with Marmite and baked beans.

Leave a Reply

